Strengths, Weaknesses, & Teams

Well, hi again. It’s been 11 months since we last spoke, and as you can see from my most recent blog post before this, I’m a fan of doing this. I don’t think I picked up another hobby as I mentioned previously, but I am getting married in 36 days. Two weeks before that, I’m moving into a new home. So busy busy busy.

Weakness: blogging consistently.

Strength: not hitting 1 year of no blog posts. #win

I’ve been thinking a lot lately on strengths and weaknesses, especially mine. I just graduated with my M.Ed. in Learning, Design, and Technology in May and started a new position as an Instructional Designer in February. Over the course of my graduate studies and not only starting a new position, but being a part of team inside a capital project at Penn State, it has opened my eyes even more to my strengths and weakness. Being a team player was always one of my strengths. I work well independently as well as in a team. I knew this, or did I? It wasn’t until I had to depend on other team members that I realized it’s been quite a while since I had to do this—since high school.

In high school, I ran cross country. Talk about an independent sport that required team dependence more than anything. You could individually win a race, but lose the entire meet because of your team. This required a great deal of dependence on your team to run well, too.

Fast forward 8 years, and all seems too familiar. Individually winning races does not do much for the team; it helps, but to win and be successful, a team effort is required. Sometimes we need to sacrifice our own win in lieu of helping another team member win their race. It’s been a while, but the true meaning of working together on a team is coming back to me…and it’s fantastical!

 

Leave a Reply

